Now Casting for Again, the Spell by Lennart Nielsen.

Check “Jobs” above.


Synecdoche Works is pleased to announce the cast of Seahorse, by J. C. Pankratz  – 3/26/2022

Cody Sloan as (Reuben/Narrator) and Omi Ford as (Narrator/Reuben).

Cody Sloan (he/him) is an LA based actor. He’s honored to be a part of the development of SEAHORSE. Off-Broadway: Seven Deadly Sins (Tectonic Theater Project). Regional credits: La Jolla Playhouse, Diversionary Theatre, and SpeakEasy Stage Company among others. MFA in Acting from UC San Diego.

Omi Ford (He/Him/His) was born and based in Queens, NY, Omi has been acting since he was 15. He graduated from AMDA College and Conservatory of the Performing Arts in June of 2019, and has since appeared in several indie theatre productions, as well as short films.

Announcing Awardees for the Frank Moffett Mosier Fellowship for Works in Heightened Language 2021

We received an astonishing and humbling 365 plays in our debut year! Thank you to all who submitted.


Submissions for 2022 open in March.





J.C. Pankratz for Seahorse


J.C. Pankratz


About Seahorse


Reuben is a trans man continuing his attempts to conceive a child after the death of his husband. In processing his grief and hope, Reuben turns his insemination endeavors into moments of self-recognition by donning different costumes and persona for each try. (Juliet, Zeus, and St. Francis all make appearances.) Instead of a funerary parade, this one-person play seeks the purpose of life for the living, for the dead, and for the not-yet-arrived.


Zoom reading on April 9, 2022. Time TBA. Please contact for invitation.


J.C. Pankratz’s biography


Special Jury Prize


Lennart Nielsen for Again, the Spell



About Again, the Spell


A farcical, time-traveling story set in an ancient forest, Again the Spell uses mistaken identity, lovers at cross-purposes, and faith that inter-human communication is sometimes possible to tell an optimistic tale about personal identity, conviction, and love.


Zoom reading in July of 2022. Please contact for invitation.


Lennart Nielsen’s biography



Finalists’ Prize



Eric Marlin for How to Mourn the Dead


Nikki Massoud for CUT-A Blasphemy


kanishk pandey for The Fate of the Online Cow


Phanésia Pharel for Black Girl Joy

Learn more about our finalists’ prize awardees here.

Longlist Prize

Zoe Bloomfield for The House of Clytemnestra: A Retelling

Ezra Brain for Arden

Megan Campisi for Malus Domestica

Gloria Bond Clunie for The Poppy

Malique Guinn for Gang Sines

Alena Haney for Hunt

NaTasha Thompson for Day Clothes

Learn more about our longlist prize awardees here.